top of page

Women's Developmental COMPULSORY Program

The Women’s Development Program (WDP) was created with the belief that all athletes, regardless of their potential, must have a solid foundation of basic skills in order to advance safely. The program allows the gymnast to advance at her own pace, competing in more than one level in a year, if she so chooses.

  • Developmental: The first segment consists of Levels 1 through 3. These levels may be used as a non-competitive and achievement-oriented program for use within a gym’s pre-team program, or they may be used as an introductory/recreational competitive program. States may offer State Championships for these levels.

    1. In-gym or inter-club testing.

    2. Equipment should accommodate the size of the gymnasts.

    3. Gymnasts must enter at Level 1 but may progress through the events and skills at different levels.

    4. Athletes may not skip any level (exception…Level 6 may be skipped, see below). They must advance one level at a time by scoring the minimum mobility score at any USA Gymnastics sanctioned competition (Exception: Levels 1-3 do not have a mobility score).

    5. A gymnast may not advance to Level 4 until she has completed the requirements as listed in the Entry and Mobility chart (page 79).

    6. Levels 1-3: Some states have an organized Level 1-3 competitive program with sanctioned events.

      • Contact the State Administrative Committee Chairman for information on scheduling, judging criteria, etc.

  • Compulsory: The second segment consists of Levels 4 and 5. Both of these levels are progressive in nature, building upon the skills required at the previous level. Competitive opportunities are provided up to and including the USA Gymnastics State Championships.

bottom of page